There is thy gold, worse poison to men's souls,
Doing more murder in this loathsome world,
Than these poor compounds that thou mayst not sell.- William Shakespeare, Romeo & Juliet
Several things are still left to do, in order to complete the Lord of the Manor medieval campaign rules. At a minimum, these include rules for conducting campaign battles (what is at stake, terrain selection, etc.), their outcome, and how to spend the bezants that accrue to a player, as part of their demesne. In addition, I think that a section on random characteristics (one each) that make a demesne unique, would be interesting. This article, however, is about the many uses to which a Lord of a Manor could put the accumulated bezants of that domain.
A Lord may find himself in possession of a certain number of bezants, which he may wish to spend, in order to make his military ventures more likely to succeed. This may include several things that are listed below, but in general include hiring more men, investing in armaments, the hire of mercenaries, and perhaps securing a marriage for an heir.
Hiring more men is quite easy to do. Simply choose a unit that is already in the demesne army, and pay the amount indicated to add more figures to the unit.
- Foot unit then the cost is 100 bezants to add an additional 6 men to the unit
- Billmen can have 6 crossbow added to their unit for 200 bezants
- Mounted unit, then the cost is 200 bezants to add an additional 3 men to the unit
Each unit can have this done a maximum of one time only (i.e. - Billmen can have 6 additional men, or 6 crossbow, but not both). The additional money can be spent to upgrade mercenary units, as well.
Mercenaries can be hired, both domestic and foreign (foreign mercenaries only available to a Demesne that has a Port). In both cases, they will return at the end of the campaign season they have been hired for.
|Villeins||100bz||18x light infantry, |
mixed weapons (sword, axe, spear)
|Routiers||200bz||18x heavy infantry|
|Town Levy||200bz||18x light infantry, pike, act as Levy|
|Yeomanry||200bz||12x English Longbow, light infantry|
with archer stakes
|Catapult Troupe||200bz||4x crew, light catapult|
|Swiss Pike||300bz||18x light infantry, pike|
|Landsknecht||200bz||18x heavy infantry, polearm|
|200bz||12x light infantry,|
|Hansa Billmen||100bz||18x light infantry, polearm|
|Catalan Scouts||100bz||12x light infantry, javelin|
|Aragon Jinetes||200bz||9x light horse, javelin|
Money can be spent to upgrade the equipment of some units. Each option below can only be applied to a unit once, although a unit may benefit from several options. For example, a single Archer unit (12 figures, light infantry, Longbow) may be made into Armored Archers (Heavy Infantry), and given Archer Stakes. Or a Sergeant unit may be upgraded with Lances, and being made into Knights (Heavy Horse).
- Spearmen (Heavy Infantry), can be made into Billmen (Polearms) for 100bz.
- Archers can be made into Armored Archers (Heavy Infantry, Longbow) for 100bz.
- Archers can be given Archer Stakes, for 100bz.
- A unit of Foot Men At Arms (Armored Infantry) can become a unit of Mounted Men At Arms (9 figures, Heavy Horse) for 200bz.
- Billmen (Heavy Infantry) can be given plate armor (Armored Infantry) for 100bz.
- Crossbow troops can be given Pavise, for 100bz.
- A Light Catapult mercenary troupe can be upgraded to a Heavy Catapult for 100bz.
- Sergeants or Mounted Men At Arms can be given Lance, for 100bz.
- Sergeants (Medium Horse) can be upgraded to Knights (Heavy Horse) for 100bz.
A Lord may decide to secure a good marriage for his heir (either son or daughter), which may come with gifts of additional lands to the demesne. A Lord may only benefit from this, once. The Lord decides whether to invest in a Marriage (300bz) or a Diplomatic Marriage (500bz).
Marriage (300bz) - The Lord receives as a gift, a parcel of land. Roll on the table to determine a new land to be added to the demesne. The normal scutage for the lands - troops and/or money - will accrue as normal.
Diplomatic Marriage (500bz) - The Lord receives as a gift, his choice of a parcel of land. Roll on the table twice, to determine two different lands to choose from (re-roll a double result) The Lord chooses from among the two lands, and it is added to his demesne, as above.
In either case, the Lord now has secured an Alliance. In the future, he may call for allied troops for any fight. He will have to pay for the troops, but he gets the two following options. Note that these are not mercenaries, and will behave as normal troops that are part of the army, but for one battle only.
- 100bz - Crossbow (12 figures, light infantry, Crossbow)
- 200bz - Knights (9 figures, heavy horse, lance)